MINOR’S
GUARDIANSHIP
INFORMATION

This information on
guardianship of a minor is based on
Idaho Code Sections 15-5-201
through 15-5-212, which is the law in
the state of Idaho. There may be
variations in the procedures of
different court districts or counties.
Check with your Court Clerk’s Office
or your Court Assistance Office for
local court rules.

When can a guardianship be
granted?

A guardian may be appointed
for an unmarried minor if all parental
rights of custody have been
terminated, the child is neglected,
abused, abandoned, or when the
parents are unable to provide a stable
home environment.

What is the proper court?

A petition for guardianship
should be filed with the magistrate
court in the county where the minor
lives.

Who may petition to be a
guardian?

Any relative of the minor, the
minor if he/she is over 14 years old,
or any person interested in the
welfare of the minor may file the
petition for guardianship.

What are the powers and
responsibilities of a guardian?

Guardians have the powers
and responsibilities of a parent of a
child except they are not legally
obligated to provide for the minor
from their own funds. A guardian
must take reasonable care of the
minor’s personal effects. A guardian
may receive money for the support of
the minor, but not as personal
compensation, and may seek support
from the parents of the minor. A
guardian must exercise due care to
conserve funds for future use. A
guardian has the power to make
decisions  about the  minor’s
education, social and other activities,
and to authorize medical or other
professional care, treatment or
advice. A guardian must report to the
court and any person as ordered by
the court the condition of the minor

and the minor’s estate which is under
the guardian’s control.

What if the case is contested?

If at any time the case
becomes contested, (when anyone
objects to any part of the
proceedings), whether the opposing
party hires an attorney or not, you
should consult an attorney.

There are several reasons why

you should consult an attorney:

1. A contested case may
quickly become very
legally complicated.

2. You will probably face
an attorney
representing the
opposing party.

3. You will be held to the
same standard as an
attorney for paperwork
filed and legal
knowledge for
handling your case.

4. Any lack of legal
knowledge may be
harmful to your case.



What is the court process to
appoint a guardian of a minor?

First, a  petition  and
supporting documents must be filed
with the magistrate court.

Second, notice of the time and
place of the hearing must be given to
the minor (if over 14 years old), the
person having principal care and
custody of the minor for the last 60
days, and any living parent of the
minor. If the parents do not consent
they must be personally served with a
copy of the petition and notice of
hearing. If the parents do not
consent, you should consult an

attorney.

Third, if all legal requirements
have been satisfied, and it is in the
best interest of the minor, the court
shall appoint the guardian.

Note: If at any time the court
determines that the minor’s interest
may not be adequately represented, it
may appoint an attorney to represent
the minor.

How can a guardianship end?

A guardian’s responsibility
ends upon the death, removal or
resignation of the guardian or the
minor’s death, adoption, marriage or
upon turning 18 years old. A
guardian may petition the court for
permission to resign, which may be
granted after proper notice and
hearing is held. Resignation of a
guardian is not effective until
approval from the court has been
given.

Where can I get assistance with this
type of case?

You can seek assistance from
the following resources:

The Idaho Volunteer Lawyers
Program offers volunteer attorney
representation without charge if you
qualify for the program. Their phone
number is (208) 334-4510 or 1-800-
221-3295.

The state law library has a
probate and guardianship formbook.
This book was designed as a guide
for attorneys to develop their own
forms which may require extensive
revision for your circumstances. The

phone number for the law library is
(208) 334-3316.

Legal form shops may have
packets of forms available for sale.
These forms are not guaranteed to be
adequate or acceptable in court.
Form shops are listed in the yellow
pages under “legal forms”

The Ada County Court
Assistance Office has forms available
for guardianship of a minor. These
forms are appropriate only when
parents consent to the guardianship.
The office is at the Ada County
Courthouse located at 200 W. Front
Street, Boise, ID 83702. Phone
number (208) 287-6963.



